Top Five Love Languages In A Relationship

five love languages, idyll college dating app, delhi
Five Love Languages

"For love, we will climb mountains, cross seas, traverse desert sands, and endure untold hardships. Without love, mountains become unclimbable, seas uncrossable, deserts unbearable, and hardships our lot in life."

Love is a long, beautiful walk with many good and bad trips in between. It holds different meanings for each individual. Sometimes it becomes difficult to express your emotions and love to your partner.

The feeling of being in love is different. Expressing that feeling with ease can be a task for many. Understanding an effective way of communicating can make your bond with your partner stronger and more trustworthy!

Hence, the concept of Five Love Languages helps one to love and express themselves in a more easy way.

What Are The Five Love Languages?

This concept of love languages was mastered by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his groundbreaking book "The Five Love Languages".

The five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love from your partner.

These are the five unique styles of communicating your love language to make it simple for you as well as for your partner.

These five hero languages are:
  1. Words Of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Physical Touch
  4. Acts Of Service
  5. Receiving Gifts
5 love languages

Words Of Affirmation

Who doesn't like being appreciated? Words Of Affirmation are about verbal appreciation and compliments. If words have the power to hurt, they also have the power to heal.

Words of affirmation are for those who feel loved when they hear compliments, even if they are minute. When this is someone’s love language, they like to hear uplifting words, sneaky notes, and lovey-dovey text messages. Simple lines like "You are so beautiful" or "I like the way you manage things" can make them fall head over heels for you.

Hint: Send them a long, cute text. It will brighten up their day!

"Verbal compliments, or words of appreciation, are powerful communicators of love."

Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Quality Time

Giving undivided attention to your partner can be the best love language for them. Making them feel wanted by spending your time with them will make them feel at home.

People whose love language is quality time feel adorned when their partner is always ready to meet. Quality time can be achieved by engaging in activities that you both love.

It cultivates intimacy and emotional bonds between partners.

Hint: Put down your phone while your partner is ranting about their day!

"Quality time does not mean that we have to spend our moments together gazing into each other’s eyes. It means that we are doing something together and that we are giving our full attention to the other person."

Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Physical Touch

Physical touch is a powerful way of expressing affection; for some, it is the most important love language. Physical touch does not always mean sexual intimacy. It can be as simple as holding hands or a kiss on the forehead.

Some examples of physical touch are:

💕 Hugging
💕 Forehead Kisses
💕 Cuddling
💕 Sitting close to each other
💕 Massages

Doing all these simple physical acts can make your partner feel loved, which is sometimes difficult to express through words.

Hint: Give them a massage at the end of the day!

"Material things are no replacement for human, emotional love."

Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Acts Of Service

We are all believers in "Actions speaking louder than words". Acts of Service are for those who believe in action. It is when you do nice things for your partner that you make them feel loved. Doing small or big chores will make your partner feel highly cherished.

They feel touched when their partner does something for them.

Some acts of service can be making food for them, helping with little tasks, or waking them up in the morning.

Hint: Helping them do their work is the highest form of service.

"Camp out in the living room. Spread your blankets and pillows on the floor. Get your Pepsi and popcorn. Pretend the TV is broken and talk like you used to when you were dating. Talk till the sun comes up or something else happens. If the floor gets too hard, go back upstairs and go to bed. You won’t forget this evening!"

Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Receiving Gifts

Gifts are a visual symbol of love. It does not fall under the category of materialism. Gifts show your thoughtfulness and efforts towards your partner. The price tag of the gift does not matter. It is the thought that counts. Giving gifts represents many things, like knowing your partner’s choices. When you pick out a gift especially for them, it shows that you actually know them.

Hint: Bring them a box of brownies and add a note saying "I thought of you while passing through the shop"!

"Gifts are visual symbols of love."

Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Let's Fall In Love All Over Again!

Each of the five love languages is great on its own. Sometimes it becomes essential to mix all these languages.

Incorporating the five love languages brings out a stronger connection with your partner.

Once you know your partner’s love language, you both can benefit. Find out your partner’s love language and implement it at its best!

Happy Dating!

Finding love to show affection?

Download Idyll- The Perfect College Dating App!